Bootleg: Bright Eyes @ KCRW 4.10.03

Photo by David Hornbuckle

(Editor’s note: This post first appeared in June 2007. MP3 links have been updated.) I’ve been a Bright Eyes fan since someone sent me “No Lies, Just Love,” a song which still blows me away. In fact, everything I’ve ever heard from the guy since has been a disappointment in comparison. But even though I wound up not being particularly impressed with his two ’05 releases, I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning and Digital Ash in a Digital Urn, there were a few songs on them that pointed to Conor Oberst’s considerable talent. The best versions I ever heard of those tracks, long before the albums came out, were on this phenomenal KCRW session.

Bright Eyes – KCRW Session, 4.10.03

Download .zip | mirror

1. Interview, Pt. 1
2. One Foot in Front of the Other
3. Sound check
4. Poison Oak
5. Sound check
6. First Day of My Life
7. Interview, Pt. 2
8. Train Under Water
9. Burn Rubber (Simon Joyner cover)
10. Interview, Pt. 3

More: Bootlegs | Bright Eyes